About Us

Discovering Green Acres

James O’Connor, the Founder of Green Acres, comes from a long line of business people who were an integral part of the Wexford community. Over the generations, the O’Connor family included solicitors, bakers, builders, and merchants.

Dating from 1860, James is the sixth generation of his family to carry on business in the town. It started with M J O’Connor his Great, Great Grandfather, who set up Frank O’Connor & Co Ltd at 54 North Main Street Wexford, trading as Bakers, Grocers, and Confectioners.

  Original Green Acres Shop North Main Street

James commenced his commercial life in the fruit and vegetable business traveling to and from Dublin. He started by taking Wexford produce to be sold in the Dublin markets and returning with produce not readily available, to supply to the shops and restaurants of Wexford. This is where the “every visit is a discovery” belief was rooted.

Building on this theme, Green Acres evolved over time into a fresh food hall and delicatessen with the later addition of a Wine Merchants, an Art Gallery, and a small restaurant. It was in the flat over the shop that James started married life with Paula, his wife. Paula and James received an added incentive to make Green Acres the successful business it is today, by producing triplets, James, Patrick and Louise in 1994. Who knows – perhaps we are witnessing the seventh generation of the family business.

The Green Acres Experience

The building that now houses the Green Acres experience had been purpose-built for the family’s legal practice in 1894. In 2005, James, Paula and their co-director Donal Morris, transformed and extended it into the magnificent building it is today. It does a wonderful job of combining the old with the new and with all its unique elements, provides that sense of discovery as one progresses through the different floors.

This sense of discovery has enabled James, Paula, and the team to grow in scope and reputation becoming renowned well beyond the shores of Ireland for its world class cellar of fine French wine, its eclectic “foody’ shop and its gallery featuring some of the best Irish contemporary artists.

Modern Green acres Shop

The Green Acres Team

James O Connor picture         Paula O Connor picture

Green acres picture of staff member   Green Acres picture of staff members      Green Acre picture of staff member

      Green Acre picture of staff member

The Green Acres Character

On Saturday, October 27th, 1956, the Irish Times published a profile of Fintan O’Connor, one of James forebears. The profile touched on the character of Wexford Town describing Fintan as “a character in a town of character” and went on to say that ……. “for Wexford, perhaps because it lies out in its own corner of Ireland, not on the way to anywhere or from anywhere, has cultivated down the centuries a strongly independent outlook. The very aspect of its narrow streets is a reminder of its history; here have lived and fought the Viking and the Norman, the Cromwellian and the Irish Rebel. Like the country behind it, it is a warm town with an air of busy prosperity”.

A perfect reflection of the Green Acres brand – go and experience it for yourself.

Fåilte go Loch Garman (Welcome to Wexford).